Inconvenience

September 10, 2006 at 8:49 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

I saw Al Gore’s movie, An Inconvenient Truth, last night. I don’t even know what to say about it. I mean, I loved it. To me, there’s nothing more important than protecting our planet and all of the life on it, and it pisses me off infuriates me that there is so little action being taken about the mess we’ve made of things. I’m sorry that cleaning it up would require such painful things as switching to fluorescent light bulbs and turning off our electronic appliances when they’re not in use. It is tragic that the United States would have to invest in public transportation infrastructure, as well as completely overhaul our gas miles per gallon standards.

I just don’t get it.

I don’t understand how and why people are so reluctant to believe and understand that global warming is not only real, but is happening currently, and is only going to get worse.

I don’t understand why people are so unwilling to accept our undeniable culpability. One of the greatest things about being the cause of a problem? Generally, that also makes it easier to do something about it. And the things that are often proposed really aren’t that painful. They’re depressingly simple, actually, and that’s what makes the specter of global warming so scary to me–if we aren’t willing to take the simplest of steps (using fluorescent bulbs, walking every now and again instead of driving, eating locally grown produce instead of fruits and vegetables flown in from great distances), what the hell are we going to do about global warming when it starts to really fuck with us? When the sea levels start rising in earnest? When we see hurricane seasons that mirror 2005 each year?

Why do people refuse to take this seriously???

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.