Dr. Seuss-ian

November 15, 2007 at 11:30 am | Posted in ceramics | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

Because I need new crafts like I need more shoes (i.e., not at all), I took up ceramics a couple of months ago. I’m taking a class at Clay Design and it has to be the most fun thing EVER.
This little guy is one of the things I made at the beginning of the class when we were working on handbuilding, before we started the wheel.  I rolled out a slab of clay with a rolling pin, and then used a stamp to make the repeating design on the surface.

img_1555.jpg

img_1554.jpg

On the underside, I attached little feet and signed my name:

img_1556.jpg

I enjoy handbuilding.  More than the wheel.  Although, let’s be honest, the wheel is super frustrating and I can never throw anything even halfway decent, so I’ve sort of taken myself off of it for the past few weeks.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey!

    You should come to the open studio on friday nights at the pottery museum… it is across from the ROM. For 10 unlimited clay…. 3/item for firing.

  2. Woman I love that!! Very Theodore Geisel indeed. 😉 Nice glazing too! The last bowl I glazed “bright sky blue” turned out brown. DAMMIT.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

